top of page


The Twelve Pillars of Kappa Epsilon

Kappa Epsilon Fraternity was founded in the late 1960's by a group of students from the College of Engineering of the University of the Philippines. Headed by Alvin Manalang, there were twelve founding members: Carlos Buzon, Mart Cabrera, Daniel Casiple, Ting Eustaquio, Nicky Falcis, Carly Fernandez, Eddie Fernandez, Chito Flores, Benny Goco, Alvin Manalang, Boboy Mendoza, and Bobby Yenko.


These "twelve pillars" dreamed of giving other students the opportunity to join a non-traditional fraternity. They used the Greek letters Kappa and Epsilon, since the ideals that the fraternity aspired to were knowledge, equality and enlightenment.

Starting out with just a few members, the Kappa Epsilon Fraternity grew to become a significant presence at the University of the Philippines, active in major changes at the university. The student leaders looked up to the fraternity for leadership and guidance. The fraternity became co-founders of the League of Filipino StudentsSAMASA, and many other student organizations.

Adapted from Kappa Epsilon website (


The original tambayan—the fraternity catches its first lucky break when it was awarded an office on the top floor of Vinzons Hall. 

Over a hundred brothers gather outside Vinzons Hall after a fraternity meeting. Vinzons Hall at the University of the Philippines, Diliman is the center of all student activities, housing the University Student Council Headquarters and the Office of Student Affairs. 

25 Years of KEAANA

In February 1995, brothers Mart Cabrera, Tony Guizon, Raffy Sustento, Gazzie Gazmen, Bom Andal, Shane Angeles, Paycheck Natividad, Bobbi Perez, Mau Marasigan, and Martin Marasigan gathered in a room at the Excalibur in Las Vegas. After exchanging pleasantries and reminiscing the good old times, the group decided to establish the Kappa Epsilon Alumni Association of North America (KEAANA). Founder Mart Cabrera was unanimously elected as the first Lord High Chancellor (LHC) / President of KEAANA. Founder Ting Eustaquio and Ding Guingab arrived to join the group the following day.

One year later, in the residence of Founder Mart, it was decided by the brothers present at that time that the LHC / President's term should be for two years (instead of one year) to provide officers ample time to effectively lead the organization. Founder Mart was reelected for the 1996 to 1997 term.

Since then, then following Brothers have occupied the position of Lord High Chancellor / President for their respective terms:

Mart Cabrera

1995, 1996, 1997

Fernando “Ding” Guingab

2002, 2003

Bobbi Perez

2010, 2011

Ed Argüelles

2018, 2019

Tony Guizon

1998, 1999

Roval Eleazar

2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

Mauro "Duke" Marasigan

2012, 2013, 2014, 2015

June "Bom" Andal

2020, 2021

Cesar “Paycheck” Natividad

2000, 2001

Paulino “Boy” Pablo

2008, 2009

Martin Marasigan

2016, 2017

Ike Cabrera

2022, 2023

KEAANA is proud to have served the Kappa Epsilon community in North America and in the Philippines for the past twenty-five years, continuing the fifty-year-long Kappa Epsilon commitment to "brotherhood through service to fellowmen."


These are some of the highlights of the organization through the years:

  • November 1995 — Mere months after KEAANA was organized, KEAANA undertook its first fundraising project at the Normandie Casino in Los Angeles featuring jazz pianist Boy Katindig and his Band.

  • February 2013 — KEAANA took steps toward financial transparency by posting financial reports detailing dues payments and disbursements.

  • July 2017 — KEAANA became a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.

  • December 2017 — KEAANA partnered with Hands for Kids in providing toys and gifts for indigent children in the Philippines.

  • February 2018 — KEAANA and its individual members contributed to the 50th Anniversary celebration of Kappa Epsilon held at Solaire Resorts, Manila and an informal celebration at Dawal Resort, Zambales.

  • February 2018 — The chancery of Vancouver, Western Canada was established under the leadership of Roland Alvarez.

  • February 2018 — KEAANA mentored and collaborated with KE brothers in the United Kingdom leading to the founding of the Kappa Epsilon Alumni Association of United Kingdom (KEAAUK).

  • April 2018 — KEAANA contributed to the memorial fund of policewoman Sister Zarah Jane Andal who died tragically in the line of duty while rescuing a kidnap victim in Quezon province.

  • December 2019 — KEAANA launched the 25th Anniversary Fund and formalized the KEAANA Scholarship Grant to provide educational opportunities to deserving active Kappa Epsilon members and children of alumni in the Philippines.

  • February 2020  The 25th Anniversary of KEAANA was celebrated in Las Vegas, Nevada where outgoing President Ed Argüelles unveiled the KEAANA website.

KE Universe

Tribute to Founders

The Kappa Epsilon Story
25 Years of KEAANA
KE Universe (Short Film)
Tribute to Founders (Short Film)
bottom of page